ERO Board


The Board of the Energy Regulatory Office, which has five members, has run the Energy Regulatory Office since 1 August 2017. One of the Board´s members is the chairman of the Board. Members of the Board and its chairman are appointed and dismissed by the government at the proposal of the Minister of Industry and Trade.

The Board adopts decisions by voting. Each Board member has one vote. A decision of the Board is adopted if at least three members vote for it.

The Board is regarded as a civil service body in accordance with the Act on the Civil Service.

ERO Board since August 1, 2017

JUDr. PhDr. Vratislav Košťál - member of the ERO Board

Ing. Rostislav Krejcar, Ph.D. - member of the ERO Board

Ing. Vladimír Outrata - Chairman of the ERO Board

Ing. Jan Pokorný - member of the ERO Board

Ing. Vladimír Vlk - member of the ERO Board


Vratislav Košťál
Member of the ERO Board

Enrolled at both schools simultaneously, Mr Košťál graduated from the Faculty of Law of Masaryk University in Brno and the Faculty of Social Sciences of Charles University in Prague. After completing the master's programme, he passed the viva voce examinations successfully at both universities. At RWE Transgas, a.s., NAFTA a.s. and E.ON Česká republika, s.r.o. he held the positions as head of department and as deputy sales director. Between 2008 and 2016, he worked for ČEPS, a.s., initially as head of Business Legal Support and then, from 2009, head of Legal Services. Before accepting membership of the ERO Board he was the principal lawyer for consumer protection at the Czech National Bank.


Rostislav Krejcar
Member of the ERO Board

Mr Krejcar graduated from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering of the Czech Technical University in Prague (ČVUT FEL), majoring in energy economics and management, in which he also received a scientific degree. Between 2002 and 2012, he worked at the ERO in the electricity department, in which he held a managerial position from 2006. In the past, Mr Krejcar was a member of a number of expert groups attached to CEER and ERGEG in Brussels and Vienna, focusing on renewable energy sources and business in international electricity transmission capacity. He left the ERO to take a short parental leave. Since 2012, Mr Krejcar has been working for ČVUT FEL on a part-time basis, with responsibility for the Energy System Development course. In addition to teaching, he worked as a self-employed energy consultant between 2013 and 2017.

Vladimír Outrata
Chairman of the ERO Board

Mr Outrata has been active in the energy sector continuously since 1985 when he graduated from the Chemical Engineering Department of the University of Chemistry and Technology in Prague. He then worked at Plynoprojekt, s.p., Transgas, a.s., RWE Transgas, a.s., and NET4GAS, s.r.o. Having started his professional career as a project manager, he gradually worked his way up to positions as sales director, capacity sales director and on a Board of Directors. Between 2006 and 2011, he served on the Board of Gas Infrastructure Europe. Between 2009 and 2013, he served on the Board of ENTSOG. ERO employees know Mr Outrata very well since he earlier served as the ERO Vice-Chairman.


Jan Pokorný
Member of the ERO Board

Mr Pokorný graduated from what then was the Faculty of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering of VŠB – Technical University of Ostrava. Following graduation, he joined the Regional Centre for District Heating. From 1990, he continued to work in the heat supply industry, specifically at Moravskoslezské teplárny, a.s., which he left after almost ten years from the position as head of marketing. He held senior managerial positions at Severomoravská energetika, a.s., Energetika Vítkovice, a.s., and ČEZ Energetické služby, s.r.o. between 1999 and 2008. Between 2008 and 2015, he headed the heat supply department of the Ministry of Industry and Trade. He already cooperated with the ERO as a member of the CHP advisory team from 2012; in 2016, he was appointed as the ERO Vice-Chairman.


Vladimír Vlk
Member of the ERO Board

Mr Vlk graduated from the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering of the Czech Technical University in Prague (ČVUT FSI). He has spent more than 35 years in the energy sector. His first employer in this field was the predecessor of ČEZ, a.s., where he worked as head of a double unit and the chief engineer for the operation of power station units until 1985. In 1986, he joined Škoda Praha as the shift start-up engineer and head of the start-up team. Mr Vlk again worked at ČEZ, a.s. from 2014 to 2016, but this time serving on the Supervisory Board. During the course of his career he also worked as a consultant for companies and governmental institutions, including as adviser to the Minister of the Environment and to the Minister of Industry and Trade.


Chairwomen and Chairmen ERO since January 1, 2001 until July 31, 2017:

Ing. Alena Vitásková: August 1, 2011 - July 31, 2017
Ing. Josef Fiřt: September 1, 2004 - July 4, 2011
Ing. Pavel Brychta, CSc.: March 22,  2001 - August 31,  2004
Ing. Pavel Prouza: February 8, 2001 - March 21, 2001 (entrust with the power)
Ing. Jana Novotná: January 1,  2001 - February 7, 2001